Oasis & The Forbidden Rhyme

Posted: April 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

1537

Patriotism is something I find a bit confusing, well, outside the context of rugby anyway* – possibly the legacy of a vaguely hippy upbringing, coupled with several years involved in anti-fascist organisations staging counter-marches and scuffling with skinheads swathed in the Union Jack has given me a healthy distaste for flags of any kind.  There are lots of things I love about the UK, but then there are lots of things I love about most places I’ve spent time in.  So when Brit pop came swaggering along and hit its stride in 1994, it was great to see some new energy in the music scene, but I never could buy into all the flag-waving properly: especially since the ultimate validation for any British band, much as they all pretend it isn’t, is to break big in America – I think it’s a dimly remembered collective cultural memory of all that grainy newsreel footage of…

View original post 1,001 more words

Comments are closed.